Sanneta Myrie is Miss Jamaica World 2015!

19 Aug

In an endorsement to women with locks, a 24-year-old medical doctor, Sanneta Myrie, has been crowned Miss Jamaica World 2015. Myrie, the first woman to so so while wearing locked hair, copped the coveted crown, joining the ranks of Joan McDonald, who was the first Jamaican woman with an afro to be placed on the Miss World stage.

However, Myrie, does not wish to be judged based on her locks.

“I lock my hair because I identify with it. I am very much rooted in that Afro-centric nature, where we as Jamaicans are rooted from. It’s my expression. I think everybody is entitled to express who they think they are and dance to the beat of their own drum. However, I want people to see me for what I have to offer, which is my presentation, intelligence and charitable work,” Myrie told The Gleaner on Saturday night.

She outshone 19 other contestants, winning what could only be described as a hotly contested competition at the Montego Bay Convention Centre. The two females who came closest to her crown were first runner-up Royanne DeSilva and a regular at beauty pageants, Rochelle McKinley.

Source: Jamaica Gleaner

 

Follow our Blog for updates, and Visit us at:

Metro Caribbean Official Website

Metro Caribbean Twitter Page

Metro Caribbean Instagram Page

Metro Caribbean Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

